Our Chair, Professor Paul Crawshaw

Professor Crawshaw is Dean of the School of Social Sciences, Humanities and Law at Teesside University. Under Professor Crawshaw's leadership, the School returned the most successful submission to UoA 22 (Social Work and Social Policy) for REF 2014 of any post 1992 institution, ranked joint 5th with York University for Grade Point Average.

Professor Crawshaw is an internationally recognised medical sociologist with expertise in public health, risk and health governance. He has published widely in a range of international journals and books and previously edited Critical Public Health. He has extensive experience of securing external funding (including RCUK, prestigious charities and various European funders) and leading research projects at regional, national and international level. He is currently Director of the University Alliance led Doctoral Training Alliance (DTA) for Social Policy.

Paul is Chair of Healthwatch South Tees and is a trustee of various charities and third sector organisations. He is a Patron of Investing in People and Culture.

Our Board

  • Carole Marshall
  • Kevin Franks
  • Dr. Ian Holtby
  • Andrea Latheron-Cassule
  • Jen Little
  • Lesley Spaven
  • Louise Wheatley

Past Board papers

We make the papers for our Board meetings available online. We also publish a summary of what was discussed. Check out our past meetings to read more. If you require documents from previous Board meetings, please contact us.

Find out more

Governance Documents

Code of Conduct

Communication Strategy

Terms of Reference

Decision Making Policy

Conflict of Interest

Compliments, Comments and

Expression of Interest

Board Recruitment Pack